Current Alberta Winners

Ben Campbell, Black Diamond AB

Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers Program (COYF) is a unique program designed to recognize farmers and farm couples who exemplify excellence in their profession and promote the tremendous contribution to agriculture. The program is open to farmers or couples who derive at least two-thirds of their income from farming operations.

Alberta/NWT is one of seven regions. Each region holds an event where local nominees are judged on specific criteria. All regional winners represent their areas at an annual national event where they compete to be named Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers.

To read how this years’ Alberta/NWT award winners exemplify the ideals of our program click below.

Read their Story View Regional Winners

2022 Nominees

2022 Ben Campbell – Black Diamond, Alberta

Tullichewan Ranch

OYF Alberta is incredibly proud to present Ben Campbell and Tullichewan Ranch (pronounced tell-a-HUE-an). Ben and wife Stephanie own the ranch which sits in the convergence of four out of the five main ecological zones in Alberta. A third generation farmer deeply rooted in sustainable and ethical agriculture, for Ben ranching is not just a […]

Read their Story

2022 Farley, Matthew and Zoë Gould – Consort, Alberta

Gould Ranching

OYF Alberta is excited to present for the first time ever, a group of three nominees! Siblings Farley, Matthew and Zoë Gould operate Gould Ranching near Consort, Alberta. The Gould siblings have always been dedicated to learning methods of sustainable agriculture. Their goal from the very beginning has been, and still is, “to find balance […]

Read their Story

2022 Russell Van Boom -Sturgeon County, Alberta

Northbank Potato Farms

Alberta OYF is incredibly proud to present Russell Van Boom of Northbank Potatrms, a family farm established in 1963 — growing potatoes and grain next to the Sturgeon River in Alberta. Northbank Potato Farms is a family owned and operated grain farm established in 1969, and is presently run by Russell Van Boom and his […]

Read their Story


Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers Program is designed to recognize young farmers that exemplify excellence in their profession. Eligible nominees must be farm operators between the ages of 18 and 39 who derive a minimum of two-thirds of their income from their farm operations. Each year one farming couple is selected from each of the program’s seven Regional Recognition Events to represent their respective region at the National Recognition Event.





Alberta names 2022 Outstanding Young Farmer Ben Campbell of Black Diamond, AB.

(Red Deer March 22, 2022)- March 17 & 18th was electric with excitement and passion for agriculture, at the Outstanding Young Farmers of Alberta/ NWT Event in Red Deer. Nearly 70 people including alumni, nominees, sponsors, and a few special guests attended the two-day event featuring nominee presentation, guest speakers, entertainment and quality time together. […]

Read More >

Roelof & Mary van Benthem named Alberta/NWT’s 2020 Outstanding Young Farmers

Red Deer, AB (Feb.8, 2020)–Alumni and industry gathered to honour Roelof and Mary van Benthem, owners of van Benthem Dairy, located at Spruceview, AB, as Alberta/NWT’s 2020 Outstanding Young Farmers. The winners were announced at the Alberta regional event held in Red Deer, Alberta on February 6-7th. Roelof moved to Canada in 2000 and spent […]

Read More >

View all

Upcoming Events

Alberta Regional Event
March 17 & 18, 2022

View Details

OYF National Event
Nov 23 - 27, 2022

View Details

Regional Sponsors

Click here for information on national and regional sponsorship opportunities with Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers.


The COYF Memorial Scholarships were established in memory of the late Martin Streef, president of Streef Produce Ltd., a family-run fresh fruit and vegetable business in Woodstock Ontario, to help future generations of Canadians pursue their passion for agriculture.

In 1996, Streef was recognized as both Ontario’s and Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmer. He died in April 2008.



Contact Us

Meaghan Carrier
Regional Coordinator

Phone: 403-589-3022

Jinel Ference
Regional Chair

Phone: 403-552-3755

Robert Semeniuk
Vice Chair

Phone: 780-650-0545

Natasha Pospisil

Phone: 780-753-7600

Tara Sawyer
Past Chair

Phone: 403-546-2259