Saskatoon (Dec 2, 2022)- Outstanding Young Farmer (OYF) alumni from Bowden Alberta, Karilynn & Ian Marshall, were honoured as recipients of the 2022 W.R. Motherwell Award by Canada’s OYF program. The award was presented to Ian & Karilynn at the National Event held in Saskatoon last week.

Karilynn and Ian Marshall became involved with the Alberta and Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers program when they were chosen as the 2004 Alberta OYF Honourees. At the time they operated a 9500 head feedlot and 300 cow calf pairs at Bowden, Alberta. Back then they seeded 3500 acres of feed grain and had another 3000 acres of pasture with additional grazing land being purchased at Edson, AB.

They embraced the program wholeheartedly. When it came time for people to volunteer, Karilynn stepped up and became the Co-Chair for the 2008 National OYF Event in Calgary. Her organizational skills became very apparent in the planning and execution of the event, which was a success.

As the Alberta OYF program grew, it became evident that it was too much to expect volunteers to continue to manage the organization. In March of 2010, Karilynn offered to be the Alberta OYF regional coordinator.  As an alumni member, she provided stability to the program. For ten years she was been instrumental in shepherding the Alberta program, from arranging press releases, working with nominees, gathering sponsorship, organizing meetings and the regional competition event. Karilynn lived the program and has been vital in keeping Alberta OYF on track. The group valued her ability to be diligent and organized. Ian was behind the scenes providing support.

Besides their OYF involvement Ian & Karilynn have been involved in many local groups such as: Bow-Inn Beef 4H Club as a leader and Bowden Agriculture Society serving on executive for 25 years as well as volunteering at the annual rodeo. The Marshall Family is known within their community and surrounding area for helping others when there is an event or when someone needs some assistance.

Their children Katie, Garnett and Ky are the next generation of Marshalls involved in the farm business. Ian and Karilynn’s family has now grown to include eight grandchildren, a highlight for them!

Danny Penner, Canada OYF President, and Marian Stamp, a fellow OYF alumni, presented the award and included these comments, “We were proud to present the Motherwell award to Karilynn and Ian Marshall. Since becoming alumni their love for the OYF program was always evident in their attendance and commitment to events and alumni.  The strength of our program lies in the guidance of our alumni members. They are well deserving recipients.”

Dr. Motherwell, the namesake of the W.R. Motherwell Award, was born near Perth, Ontario in 1860. His leadership in Canadian agriculture spanned more than 50 years and he is regarded by many as the “grand old man of Canadian agriculture.” His career highlights include minister of agriculture in Saskatchewan’s first provincial government, and minister of agriculture for Canada in the 1920s. Having attended agricultural college in Guelph, Ontario, his move to Saskatchewan resulted in his instrumental role in establishing the agriculture facility at the University of Saskatchewan. Dr. Motherwell died in 1943 at the age of 83.

On the 25th anniversary of the OYF program, the W.R. Motherwell Award was established. The award is presented annually, on behalf of OYF alumni across Canada, to an individual or couple who has demonstrated excellence in leadership and dedication to both the OYF program and Canadian agriculture.

More information about the OYF W.R. Motherwell Award is available at under Nominations.

Celebrating 42 years, Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers’ program is an annual competition to recognize farmers that exemplify excellence in their profession and promote the tremendous contribution of agriculture. Open to participants 18 to 39 years of age, making the majority of income from on-farm sources, participants are selected from seven regions across Canada, with two national winners chosen each year. The program is sponsored nationally by CIBC, John Deere, Bayer, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Sollio Agriculture and CN; our media partners, Glacier FarmMedia and WS and supported nationally by BDO


For more information on this event please contact:

Carla Kaeding, Program Manager, Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers

306.896.7833 ·  ·