Niagara Falls, ON (Oct. 19, 2016) – The Ontario OYF Region is hard at work preparing to host Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers’ National Event in Niagara Falls. The event will take place at the Hilton Fallsview from Nov. 30 to Dec. 4.


“We’re thrilled to be able to showcase the beauty of our region at this years’ national event,” says Regional Chair Cory Van Groningen. “We want to invite everyone to come and take part in all that the Niagara region has to offer. We’ve included a variety of opportunities to explore the region and take advantage of this years’ beautiful location.”


Every year this event brings recognition to outstanding farm couples in Canada between 18 and 39 years of age who have exemplified excellence in their profession while fostering better urban-rural relations. Seven entrepreneurial farm couples from across Canada chosen from their home regions will present highlights of their operations at the national event. This year’s honourees include:


Brian & Jewel Pauls, Chilliwack BC

Shane & Kristin Schooten, Diamond City AB

Dan & Chelsea Erlandson, Outlook SK

Jason & Laura Kehler, Carman MB

Adrian & Jodi Roelands, Lambton Shores ON

Dominic Drapeau & Celia Neault, Ste-Françoise-de-Lotbinière QC

Andrew & Jennifer Lovell, Keswick Ridge NB


“The event includes everything from a thought provoking forum, the regional honouree presentations and a gala where we will announce the national OYF winners,” says Program Manager Carla Kaeding.


Pre-registration is required to attend the OYF event – forum/lunch/presentation are $50 per person, awards gala are $100 per person, a forum/lunch/presentations/awards gala are $125 per person. Tickets can be ordered at


Celebrating 36 years, Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers’ program is an annual competition to recognize farmers that exemplify excellence in their profession and promote the tremendous contribution of agriculture. Open to participants 18 to 39 years of age, making the majority of income from on-farm sources, participants are selected from seven regions across Canada, with two national winners chosen each year. The program is sponsored nationally by CIBC, John Deere, Bayer, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada through Growing Forward 2, a federal, provincial, territorial initiative. The national media sponsor is Annex Business Media, and the program is supported nationally by AdFarm, BDO and Farm Management Canada.




For more information on this event please contact:

Carla Kaeding, Program Manager, Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers

306.896.7833 ·  ·