Current BC/Yukon Winners

Tristan & Aubyn Banwell Northern St'at'imc Territory, Lillooet, BC


Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers Program (COYF) is a unique program designed to recognize farmers and farm couples who exemplify excellence in their profession and promote the tremendous contribution to agriculture. The program is open to farmers or couples who derive at least two-thirds of their income from farming operations.

British Columbia  is one of seven regions. Each region holds an event where local nominees are judged on specific criteria. All regional winners represent their areas at an annual national event where they compete to be named Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers.

To read how this years’ British Columbia award winners exemplify the ideals of our program click below.

Read their Story View Regional Winners

Current Nominees

2024- Kerry McCann-Pemberton

Laughing Crow Organics Farm

Kerry McCann Co-owns & operates Laughing Crow Organics farm.  For the past 11 years, she has been dedicated to growing the farm business. Kerry is passionate about farming, small farms, systems and efficiency for farmers, land stewardship, really good food, flowers & birding. For more info

Read their Story

2024 – Aubyn & Tristan Banwell- Lillooet

Spray Creek Ranch

Aubyn & Tristan Banwell manage Spray Creek Ranch, a diversified regenerative organic farm in the Northern St’at’imc Territory near Lillooet, BC.  Together with their children Twain and Tusi, their land owner partners and a great crew, they raise cattle, sheep, pigs and poultry on pasture along the mighty Fraser River in the rain shadow of […]

Read their Story

2024- Jeff & Carrie Hooge- Greendale

Lepp Farm Market & Fraser Valley Hazelnuts

We are Jeff and Carrie Hooge, farmers from the small community of Greendale, BC. Our family has been farming for three generations, and we live and work on our farm with our three children. Our main focus is on raising broiler chickens, but Jeff also manages four additional farm sites, and we’re both involved in our extended […]

Read their Story

2025 CALL FOR BC NOMINATIONS- Deadline Dec 31


Read their Story


Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers Program is designed to recognize young farmers that exemplify excellence in their profession. Eligible nominees must be farm operators between the ages of 18 and 39 who derive a minimum of two-thirds of their income from their farm operations. Each year one farming couple is selected from each of the program’s seven Regional Recognition Events to represent their respective region at the National Recognition Event.



.embed-container { position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.25%; height: 0; overflow: hidden; max-width: 100%; } .embed-container iframe, .embed-container object, .embed-container embed { position: absolute; top: 0; left: 0; width: 100%; height: 100%; }


British Columbia/Yukon names Tristan & Aubyn Banwell of Spray Creek Ranch, as their 2024 Outstanding Young Farmers.

(Abbotsford, BC Mar 13, 2024) – Tristan & Aubyn Banwell of Spray Creek Ranch from Northern St’at’imc Territory near Lillooet, BC were named BC/Yukon’s Outstanding Young Farmers for 2024 at the BC/Yukon Region’s Recognition Event held in Abbotsford Mar 11-12. Aubyn & Tristan Banwell manage a diversified regenerative organic farm.  Together with their children Twain […]

Read More >

View all

Upcoming Events

BC Regional Event
Feb 18-19, 2025

View Details

OYF National Event
Nov 27-Dec 1, 2024

View Details

Regional Sponsors

Click here for information on national and regional sponsorship opportunities with Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers.


The OYF Memorial Scholarships were established in memory of the late Martin Streef, president of Streef Produce Ltd., a family-run fresh fruit and vegetable business in Woodstock Ontario, to help future generations of Canadians pursue their passion for agriculture.

In 1996, Streef was recognized as both Ontario’s and Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmer. He died in April 2008.


Contact Us

Richele Burgsma
Regional Coordinator

Email: bcyoyf@gmail.com
Phone: 604-897-1858

Cammy Lockwood
Regional Chair

Email: cammy@lockwoodfarms.ca
Phone: 250-710-4769

Steve Saccomano
Nomination Chair

Email: cssacco@telus.net
Phone: 1604-855-5319

Kevin Klippenstein

Email: klipppersorganics@gmail.com
Phone: 604-316-3863

Brian Pauls
Past Chair

Email: brianpauls@icloud.com
Phone: 604-991-6969